You are here

Bubble Watch: Tough day for ACC bubble teams – KTVN Channel 2 – Reno Tahoe Sparks News, Weather, Video

Bubble Watch: Tough day for ACC bubble teams – KTVN Channel 2 – Reno Tahoe Sparks News, Weather, Video Member Center: Bubble Watch: Tough day for ACC bubble teams Posted: Updated: Thursday, March 9 2017 4:48 AM EST 2017-03-09 09:48:55 GMT The mayor of the Mississippi city where a train hit a bus, killing four Texas tourists, is vowing to close some railroad crossings and make others safer. More >> The mayor of the Mississippi city where a train hit a bus, killing four Texas tourists, is vowing to close some railroad crossings and make others safer. More >> Updated: Thursday, March 9 2017 4:48 AM EST 2017-03-09 09:48:50 GMT Republicans on a pivotal House committee are nearing an initial triumph in their effort to scuttle former President Barack Obama’s health care overhaul. More >> Republicans on a pivotal House committee are nearing an initial triumph in their effort to scuttle former President Barack Obama’s health care overhaul. More >> Updated: Thursday, March 9 2017 4:27 AM EST 2017-03-09 09:27:09 GMT Former members of a North Carolina church who reported they witnessed beatings of worshippers to purify them of sins said they are glad an Associated Press story has led to a state investigation into two… More >> Former members of a North Carolina church who reported they witnessed beatings of worshippers to purify them of sins said they are glad an Associated Press story has led to a state investigation into two prosecutors who are church members. More >> Updated: Thursday, March 9 2017 3:15 AM EST 2017-03-09 08:15:30 GMT The state of Hawaii has become the first state to sue to stop President Donald Trump’s revised travel ban. More >> The state of Hawaii has become the first state to sue to stop President Donald Trump’s revised travel ban. More >> Updated: Thursday, March 9 2017 2:55 AM EST 2017-03-09 07:55:56 GMT The state of Hawaii has become the first state to sue to stop President Donald Trump’s revised travel ban. More >> The state of Hawaii has become the first state to sue to stop President Donald Trump’s revised travel ban. More >> Updated: Thursday, March 9 2017 1:25 AM EST 2017-03-09 06:25:26 GMT Jury selection is about to get underway in the capital murder trial of an anti-government sharpshooter charged with killing a Pennsylvania State Police trooper and critically wounding another in a 2014 ambush at… More >> Jury selection is about to get underway in the capital murder trial of an anti-government sharpshooter charged with killing a Pennsylvania State Police trooper and critically wounding another in a 2014 ambush at their barracks. More >> Updated: Thursday, March 9 2017 1:05 AM EST 2017-03-09 06:05:26 GMT A court hearing is set for Thursday in Alaska for the two sides in a lawsuit challenging the new Inupiat Eskimo name of the nation’s northernmost town. More >> A court hearing is set for Thursday in Alaska for the two sides in a lawsuit challenging the new Inupiat Eskimo name of the nation’s northernmost town. More >> Updated: Thursday, March 9 2017 12:45 AM EST 2017-03-09 05:45:26 GMT Facing strong objections from across the political spectrum, House Republican leaders are forging ahead with their health care overhaul. More >> Facing strong objections from across the political spectrum, House Republican leaders are forging ahead with their health care overhaul. More >> Updated: Thursday, March 9 2017 12:35 AM EST 2017-03-09 05:35:25 GMT Federal prosecutors have decided to drop child pornography charges against a Washington teacher after the Justice Department refused to disclose information about a software weakness it exploited during an… More >> Federal prosecutors have decided to drop child pornography charges against a Washington teacher after the Justice Department refused to disclose information about a software weakness it exploited during an investigation last year. More >> Wednesday, March 8 2017 11:15 PM EST 2017-03-09 04:15:22 GMT Uber’s self-driving cars will return to California’s streets. More >> Uber’s self-driving cars will return to California’s streets. More >> College student’s juggling act caught on police cameras
An Arkansas college student who moonlights as a magician showed off his juggling skills for campus police after he was pulled over for a broken brake light, and the act was captured on an officer’s body camera and police cruiser video More >>
An Arkansas college student who moonlights as a magician showed off his juggling skills for campus police after he was pulled over for a broken brake light, and the act was captured on an officer’s body camera and police cruiser video By JIM O’CONNELLAP Basketball Writer
NEW YORK (AP) – Jim Boeheim usually says what’s on his mind and it doesn’t matter if the topic is his team’s chances at making the NCAA Tournament’s field of 68.
Syracuse lost to Miami 62-57 on Wednesday in the second round of the Atlantic Coast Conference Tournament. It was a win that would have improved the Orange’s resume. It was a loss that may mean no NCAA Tournament.
“It’s up to them. My opinion doesn’t matter,” Boeheim said, referring to the tournament selection committee. “Every coach in the country that’s on the bubble thinks his team should get in.”
What will hurt Syracuse is its lack of road wins and an RPI of 75 but the Orange did go 6-7 against the top 50. Last year, the Orange had an RPI in the 70s and they were invited and went all the way to the Final Four.
The ACC Tournament saw two other bubble teams lose a game that would have pretty much locked up an at-large bid.
Clemson lost to Duke 79-72 and Wake Forest lost to Virginia Tech 99-90.
Clemson won an opening-round game to bolster its record but the Tigers really needed a win over a team like Duke. They have an RPI of 63 and were winless in seven games against the top 25.
“We won six (ACC) games. We probably needed to win eight or 10,” Clemson coach Brad Brownell said. “That’s obviously why today’s game was so important for our team. If we could have got today’s game, then I think we have a better chance, and then maybe one more.”
Wake Forest made a late-season surge with a win over Louisville and another at Virginia Tech. The Demon Deacons still have an RPI of 31 but do they have enough impressive wins, only going 1-7 against the top 25?
“I think some losses early in the season kind of like hurt us a little bit, but I think down the line during ACC play we picked up a few big wins, especially against — upsetting at Louisville and now Virginia Tech,” guard Brandon Childress said. “Being 9-9 in ACC play, I think that helped us out a lot. Hopefully, we get in. If not, we’ve still got to be ready to play no matter if it’s NIT or in the NCAA Tournament.”
In the Pac-12, California helped itself with an opening-round 67-62 win over Oregon State. The Golden Bears have an RPI of 55 but they are 0-6 against the top 25.
In the Big East, Xavier beat DePaul 75-64 in the opening round, a win that keeps the Musketeers alive and sends them to face Butler, a win that would certainly impress the committee. Xavier had a late-season six-game losing streak that followed the loss to a knee injury of point guard Edmond Sumner. Copyright 2017 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed. Most Popular Stories Most Popular Stories More>>

Related posts

Leave a Comment