Is your farmers market fresh or false?

rooz Is your farmers market fresh or false? image

Is your farmers market fresh or false? Posted: Connect GREEN BLUFF, Wash. –
May brings farmers markets back outdoors in major cities across the country, and more and more families participating in this ‘farm to fork’ economy. But there are some things you should know about these vendors before you buy.
The Inland Northwest is on the cutting edge of this culinary change. When it comes to a commitment to bringing local food to the community, Oregon is ranked #3, Montana ranked #4, Idaho is #12, and Washington ranked #16 in the nation, according to the latest non-profit Locavore Index . And it’s never been easier to access local agriculture – the USDA’s National Farmers Market Directory now lists more than 8,600 markets, an increase of more than 75% since 2008.
Yet, the sheer number of new markets can make it hard to spot farmers from the fakers. For example, some vendors in California and Utah cheated, and sold store bought produce as their own.
For this story, Reporter Katie Chen asked Nick Simchuk, Head Grower at Hidden Acres in Green Bluff, Washington, for advice on how to make sure the local food you want isn’t some store bought wanna-be.
Watch our report, then check out these maps allowing you to locate the farmers’ markets nearest you across the Inland Northwest: Updated: Wednesday, May 10 2017 2:15 PM EDT 2017-05-10 18:15:22 GMT
KHQ.COM – An incredible ending to a story we’ve been following out of Montana after a woman went missing in an area where grizzly bears are known to inhabit. 25-year-old Madeline Connelly was reported missing in the Great Bear Wilderness area on May 4th and when authorities searching for her discovered grizzly bear tracks over human tracks in the same area, the worst was feared for the fate of Connelly. >>
KHQ.COM – An incredible ending to a story we’ve been following out of Montana after a woman went missing in an area where grizzly bears are known to inhabit. 25-year-old Madeline Connelly was reported missing in the Great Bear Wilderness area on May 4th and when authorities searching for her discovered grizzly bear tracks over human tracks in the same area, the worst was feared for the fate of Connelly. >> Updated: Tuesday, May 9 2017 11:54 PM EDT 2017-05-10 03:54:11 GMT
The Stevens County Jail confirms a couple has been arrested and accused of animal cruelty. Last week, we told you about 40 dogs that were rescued that were described to be living in “deplorable condition.” Animal rescue group Rescue4All took video of the scene showing the conditions. The non-profit says they found animals covered in filth, with skin infections and chained to trees. >>
The Stevens County Jail confirms a couple has been arrested and accused of animal cruelty. Last week, we told you about 40 dogs that were rescued that were described to be living in “deplorable condition.” Animal rescue group Rescue4All took video of the scene showing the conditions. The non-profit says they found animals covered in filth, with skin infections and chained to trees. >> Updated: Wednesday, May 10 2017 9:46 AM EDT 2017-05-10 13:46:32 GMT
KHQ.COM – Two people are behind bars this morning after leading police on a chase that started in Airway Heights and ended in Spokane at Riverside and Government Way. The driver was originally pulled over for expired tabs in the Walmart parking lot in airway heights. That driver though, fled the scene. >>
KHQ.COM – Two people are behind bars this morning after leading police on a chase that started in Airway Heights and ended in Spokane at Riverside and Government Way. The driver was originally pulled over for expired tabs in the Walmart parking lot in airway heights. That driver though, fled the scene. >> Updated: Tuesday, May 9 2017 11:27 PM EDT 2017-05-10 03:27:05 GMT
KHQ.COM – Due to the emergency at the Hanford Site today, non-essential personnel who work north of the Wye Barricade are being advised not to report for graveyard shift tonight. Only essential employees needed to maintain minimum safe operations are to report to work. An emergency was declared at the site at approximately 8:30 a.m. this morning. >>
KHQ.COM – Due to the emergency at the Hanford Site today, non-essential personnel who work north of the Wye Barricade are being advised not to report for graveyard shift tonight. Only essential employees needed to maintain minimum safe operations are to report to work. An emergency was declared at the site at approximately 8:30 a.m. this morning. >> Updated: Tuesday, May 9 2017 10:40 PM EDT 2017-05-10 02:40:12 GMT
SPOKANE, Wash. – Jaeger the German Shepard has been a part of the Douglas family for six years. He’s a companion, and a service dog for one family member. “That dog brings him so much comfort and does stuff for him,” said Marie Douglas about her husband’s service dog Monday night, the Douglases eldest son took Jaeger for a walk in their Colbert neighbor when they passed by a fence. >>
SPOKANE, Wash. – Jaeger the German Shepard has been a part of the Douglas family for six years. He’s a companion, and a service dog for one family member. “That dog brings him so much comfort and does stuff for him,” said Marie Douglas about her husband’s service dog Monday night, the Douglases eldest son took Jaeger for a walk in their Colbert neighbor when they passed by a fence. >> Updated: Wednesday, May 10 2017 9:20 AM EDT 2017-05-10 13:20:35 GMT
KHQ.COM – It’s the latest viral video on a plane that’s making the rounds on social media after a fight between two passengers broke out on a Southwest Airlines flight. The plane was traveling from Dallas to Los Angeles when a witness says a man turned around in his seat and made a comment about the woman sitting behind him “messing with his chair.” >>
KHQ.COM – It’s the latest viral video on a plane that’s making the rounds on social media after a fight between two passengers broke out on a Southwest Airlines flight. The plane was traveling from Dallas to Los Angeles when a witness says a man turned around in his seat and made a comment about the woman sitting behind him “messing with his chair.” >> Updated: Wednesday, May 10 2017 4:44 PM EDT 2017-05-10 20:44:48 GMT
Most people’s financial lives revolve around a credit union or a bank. They buy groceries using debit cards linked to their checking accounts and save money in savings accounts. For some people, however, there’s no solid center. >>Read more… >>
Most people’s financial lives revolve around a credit union or a bank. They buy groceries using debit cards linked to their checking accounts and save money in savings accounts. For some people, however, there’s no solid center. >>Read more… >> Updated: Wednesday, May 10 2017 3:10 PM EDT 2017-05-10 19:10:29 GMT
LOS ANGELES (AP) – After conquering Hollywood, Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson may have his sights set on the White House. The actor and former pro wrestler tells GQ that a presidential run is “a real possibility.” Johnson says if he were president, leadership would be a top priority. Johnson isn’t revealing much about his political leanings, but says he’s not in favor of President Donald Trump’s proposed travel ban. >>
LOS ANGELES (AP) – After conquering Hollywood, Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson may have his sights set on the White House. The actor and former pro wrestler tells GQ that a presidential run is “a real possibility.” Johnson says if he were president, leadership would be a top priority. Johnson isn’t revealing much about his political leanings, but says he’s not in favor of President Donald Trump’s proposed travel ban. >> Updated: Wednesday, May 10 2017 3:09 PM EDT 2017-05-10 19:09:46 GMT
A Houston-based company has shown interest in developing a biofuel refinery in Washington. The Daily News reports the Port of Longview previously denied a similar project from the company. But this time, their plan is for just biofuel – not oil or propane – and would be built outside of Longview property. >>
A Houston-based company has shown interest in developing a biofuel refinery in Washington. The Daily News reports the Port of Longview previously denied a similar project from the company. But this time, their plan is for just biofuel – not oil or propane – and would be built outside of Longview property. >> Updated: Wednesday, May 10 2017 2:43 PM EDT 2017-05-10 18:43:08 GMT
KHQ.COM – The owner at Coulee Hardware in Grand Coulee, WA caught an attempted break-in on surveillance video. But what sets this story apart from other attempted break-ins? The suspect was “bearly a burglar.” The suspect was actually a bear! But a bear on a mission at that. After a customer informed the owner that he had seen a bear run across the parking lot and climb over a fence next to the store. >>
KHQ.COM – The owner at Coulee Hardware in Grand Coulee, WA caught an attempted break-in on surveillance video. But what sets this story apart from other attempted break-ins? The suspect was “bearly a burglar.” The suspect was actually a bear! But a bear on a mission at that. After a customer informed the owner that he had seen a bear run across the parking lot and climb over a fence next to the store. >> Updated: Wednesday, May 10 2017 2:15 PM EDT 2017-05-10 18:15:22 GMT
KHQ.COM – An incredible ending to a story we’ve been following out of Montana after a woman went missing in an area where grizzly bears are known to inhabit. 25-year-old Madeline Connelly was reported missing in the Great Bear Wilderness area on May 4th and when authorities searching for her discovered grizzly bear tracks over human tracks in the same area, the worst was feared for the fate of Connelly. >>
KHQ.COM – An incredible ending to a story we’ve been following out of Montana after a woman went missing in an area where grizzly bears are known to inhabit. 25-year-old Madeline Connelly was reported missing in the Great Bear Wilderness area on May 4th and when authorities searching for her discovered grizzly bear tracks over human tracks in the same area, the worst was feared for the fate of Connelly. >> Updated: Wednesday, May 10 2017 2:14 PM EDT 2017-05-10 18:14:51 GMT
OLYMPIA, Wash. (AP) – Twenty-two Washington police officers have received the state’s highest honor in law enforcement. The Skagit Valley Herald reports seven officers from Skagit County, six from Mount Vernon and one from Burlington were among the officers who received state Law Enforcement Medals of Honor Friday. >>
OLYMPIA, Wash. (AP) – Twenty-two Washington police officers have received the state’s highest honor in law enforcement. The Skagit Valley Herald reports seven officers from Skagit County, six from Mount Vernon and one from Burlington were among the officers who received state Law Enforcement Medals of Honor Friday. >> Updated: Wednesday, May 10 2017 1:21 PM EDT 2017-05-10 17:21:28 GMT
WASHINGTON (AP) – The Latest on President Donald Trump and FBI Director James Comey’s firing (all times local): 12:25 p.m. Three U.S. officials say fired FBI Director James Comey told lawmakers that he asked the Justice Department for more money for the bureau’s investigation into Russia’s election meddling. President Donald Trump fired Comey Tuesday. >>
WASHINGTON (AP) – The Latest on President Donald Trump and FBI Director James Comey’s firing (all times local): 12:25 p.m. Three U.S. officials say fired FBI Director James Comey told lawmakers that he asked the Justice Department for more money for the bureau’s investigation into Russia’s election meddling. President Donald Trump fired Comey Tuesday. >> Updated: Wednesday, May 10 2017 12:47 PM EDT 2017-05-10 16:47:58 GMT
POST FALLS, Idaho – A rooster caught up in some “fowl play” in Post Falls landed himself in the slammer overnight. Post Falls Police posted about the ordeal on their Facebook page. They say an officer had to respond to a local business to deal with a feisty rooster because customers were being chased down by the bird which was also jumping on top of cars. >>
POST FALLS, Idaho – A rooster caught up in some “fowl play” in Post Falls landed himself in the slammer overnight. Post Falls Police posted about the ordeal on their Facebook page. They say an officer had to respond to a local business to deal with a feisty rooster because customers were being chased down by the bird which was also jumping on top of cars. >>